Couch to 5K: Week One

Last week, I started the couch to 5K program using a super convenient iOS app that I downloaded. I am firmly on the ‘couch’ end of the exercise spectrum, but I’m happy to say that I completed the first three runs! I have to admit that it was a bit difficult for me (between my general level of un-fitness and my seasonal allergies, there was some wheezing going on!), but I’m determined to stick with it.

The first week is made up of three sessions, which consist of a 5 minute warm up period, 8x 1 minute run/1.5 minute walk, and a 5 minute cool down period. I think I may repeat the same level a couple more times to finish out this week, and start the second week sessions when I’m in Florida.

We leave for Florida on Monday morning, and we’ll be spending a few days at my parents’ condo before heading to Disney World for a few days! I found out that the Port Orleans resort we’re staying at has a walking/running path, so I’m hoping to get in a couple sessions even while I’m down there. We bought the meal plan, so I think I’ll need the extra exercise, even with all the walking we’ll be doing in the parks!

When I get back, I want to try the Blogilates 90-day Challenge, which includes a diet and exercise plan to ‘eat clean and be active’ for 12 weeks. I may not be able to keep up at the start, but I’m hoping that like the couch to 5K, it will get easier over time!

Leave a Reply

